Home Things to Know 10 Foods That Appear Vegetarian but Aren’t

10 Foods That Appear Vegetarian but Aren’t

by Jasleen K.R. November 11, 2016
Spread the Word

If you are a vegan, for ethical reasons or not, this list might make you feel ill. You might think for a while how your whole life has been a lie. But hold on and read how these food items have been deceiving vegetarians. They were so commonly used that we hardly suspected them being part of non-vegetarian foods.

Have a look at the Non-Vegetarian Foods that almost went unnoticed  and are eaten by vegetarians :




All cheeses aren’t vegetarian ! Some varieties of chesse are made with rennet, an enzyme from cow’s stomach. This is going to come as shock to vegetarians who love cheese in their sandwiches and pastas. Parmesan cheese does have rennet, but Kosher doesn’t. Not all cheeses are made with animal rennet thankfully.



various types of sugar

Some sugar manufacturers bleach the refined white sugar that involves passing it through bone char, which is made of bones of animals, or natural carbon which is also made of charred bones. Now you cannot just stop consuming sugar right. So what you can try is buying unrefined sugar or buy brands that don’t use bone char.


Imported beers and wines


Some imported brands especially the ones made in Britain have to be avoided by ultra-strict vegans. There can be animal products involved in the processing of wine and beers. Traditionally, either egg whites or isinglass (fish swim bladders) were used to filter wine, beer and spirits. Factually the animal part is not in the final part, they are turned into compost first. But vegans like avoiding the end product.


Orange Juice


If you want to strictly consume pure form of juice, make it at homes. Major brands like Tropicana and Minute Maid source Vitamin D from lanolin, waxy, sheep wool or add omega-3. It has been confirmed that Tropicana Healthy Heart Orange Juice contains fish gelatin and omega-3 fatty acids from fish oil.




Well, even candies are not animal-friendly now. Gelatin, obtained from natural sources like skin and bones of animals, is widely used in confections because it foams, gels or solidifies into a piece that dissolves slowly or melts in your mouth. It gives a really good texture to the candies. So,  vegans cannot consume few candies now, M&Ms are safe though.




Disodium Inosinate known as E 631 is the flavor which makes us crave for junk food. It is added in packaged food like instant noodles and chips to give that specific savory taste. And E 631 is commercially prepared from fish, although it can have a plant origin too. But mostly it is meat. So, vegetarians and vegans, be careful before you start with that packet of Lay’s.




Gelatin, a common ingredient used in many baking processes, contains animal bones. Gelatin is made from by-products of the meat and leather industry, in which cruelty to animals is definitely there. But just scanning the ingredient label for the word ‘gelatin’ may not be enough and it probably might also be listed as “E 441”. But if you are really fond of Jello, you ca try its vegetarian replacements like Agar.


Non-fat Yogurt


We may at time prefer to buy the non-fat versions of things just to stay in shape. But having the non-fat yogurt might not be a good news for vegans out there. It may have gelatin in it to help retain a yogurty texture. So be careful next time you decide to cut fat.




Technically, marshmallows aren’t vegetarian at all as they contain gelatin which is derived from collagen inside animal’s skin and bones. It is commonly used as a gelling agent in food. We can say that gelatin is basically pig skin. Now its your choice whether you wish to continue eating it or not. But there is no denying the fact how delicious they are.


French Fries


French fries are just plain fried potatoes right ? But not so much. They are fried in animal fat many a times. Even McDonald’s fries are not 100% vegetarian in all  countries as some beef flavor is added to the processing plant. Plus another problem is they might be fried in oils that have previously been used to fry other food stuff including non-vegetarian items. So, tell the restaurant you are strictly vegan before you order your fries.



It is really difficult to distinguish between vegetarian and non-vegetarian foods in a world where eating animals has become a common practice. But anyways, I hope my list helped you with a few things you should be careful with next time you plan on having a meal.


So Vegetarians, are you going to eat anything at all now ? 😛 



You may also like


Rahat Arora November 12, 2016 - 8:48 AM

Yes these all are mouthwatering and I love food

kunal November 12, 2016 - 4:45 PM

I feel sad for some of my friends 😀

Rahul November 13, 2016 - 3:08 PM

Excellent Food + Trekking, makes Rock Solid Adventures… 🙂

Akku November 16, 2016 - 12:31 PM

Lol !! Technically we all are non vegetarians now.

Siddharth November 19, 2017 - 6:04 AM

a really weird article to read.
I feel a little bad for some of my friends now. lol
good article in short.


Leave a Reply to Rahat Arora Cancel reply